Cristiano Ronaldo wins Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo

Just after claiming his fourth Ballon d’Or last month, Cristiano Ronaldo has gone on to win FIFA’s inaugural The Best Men’s Player award for 2016 which is a recognition for a memorable year in which he lifted the UEFA Champions League and as captain in his country’s team, led them to a first international trophy at UEFA EURO 2016.

The 31-year-old beat Lionel Messi to the prize at Monday’s gala following what he considers to be the best year of his career, in which he won the Champions League, the UEFA Super Cup and the Club World Cup with Real Madrid, and Euro 2016 with Portugal; reports.

Ronaldo ended  2016 with a hat-trick in the FIFA Club World Cup taking his tally of goals for the calendar year to 42 for Madrid, in addition to the 13 he managed for Portugal.

“2016 was the best year of my career, the trophy shows that people aren’t blind and watch the games,” he said as he collected his award. “With everything I won with my national team and club, with great individual performance, I can’t forget this incredible year. Thanks for voting for me.”

“He deserves it. I mean the main rivalry is with Messi and I think he deserves it more because he has proved himself in the English premiership while Messi hasn’t done that,” says football enthusiast Anthony Callaghan.

Full winners at The Best FIFA Football Awards …

FIFPro World 11

The FIFPro World 11 pose onstage©Getty Images

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)
The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash/United States)
The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Claudio Ranieri (Leicester)
The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Silvia Neid (Germany)
FIFA Fair Play Award: Atlético Nacional (Colombia)
FIFA Puskás Award (best goal): Mohd Faiz Subri (Penang)
FIFA Fan Award: Liverpool and Dortmund supporter during their UEFA Europa League quarter-final
FIFA FIFPro World 11: Manuel Neuer (Bayern München/Germany); Dani Alves (Juventus/Brazil), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona/Spain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain), Marcelo (Real Madrid/Brazil); Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/Germany), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid/Croatia); Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal), Luis Suárez (Barcelona/Uruguay).Cristiano Ronaldo